Faculty Researchers Honored By AAAS

Three Rensselaer researchers were elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as lifetime fellows. The 2021 class of AAAS Fellows includes 564 scientists, engineers, and innovators spanning 24 scientific disciplines who are being recognized for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievement

Georges Belfort

Georges Belfort is an Institute Professor of Science, Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, and one of the premier academic scientists/ engineers in the field of membrane technology and bioseparations engineering. In naming him a fellow, AAAS cited him “for distinguished fundamental contributions to the field of separation science and engineering, particularly for bioseparations and water purification with membranes, and for surface modification of polymeric membranes.”

Nikhil Koratkar

Nikhil Koratkar is the John A. Clark and Edward T. Crossan Chair of Engineering and Professor of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Nuclear Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering. He is an expert in the development and characterization of advanced nanostructured materials and devices. AAAS cited him “for distinguished contributions to the science and technology of one-dimensional and two-dimensional materials, leading to important advances in nanotechnology, energy, and sustainability.”

Rick Relyea

Rick Relyea is the David M. Darrin ’40 Senior Endowed Chair and Professor of Biological Sciences, Director of the Darrin Fresh Water Institute, and Director of the Jefferson Project at Lake George. Relyea conducts research on aquatic ecosystems, examining the roles of species interactions, evolutionary processes, and human activities on organisms living in lakes, streams, and wetlands. AAAS cited him “for distinguished contributions to the fields of ecology, evolution, and ecotoxicology, particularly by examining the interactions of natural and anthropogenic stressors on individuals, food webs, and ecosystems.”