Notable Achievements: Fall 2019

President Shirley Ann Jackson

PRESIDENT SHIRLEY ANN JACKSON was appointed to the global board of directors of The Nature Conservancy, one of the world’s most wide-reaching environmental organizations. For more than 65 years, The Nature Conservancy has pushed the boundaries of conservation to ensure that nature and people can thrive, and has protected more than 119 million acres of land, countless miles of rivers and streams, and the Earth’s oceans. 

Jonathan Dordick

JONATHAN DORDICK, the Howard P. Isermann ’42 Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering, received the Amgen Biochemical and Molecular Engineering Award at the ECI Conference on Biochemical and Molecular Engineering in July. The award recognizes research excellence and leadership in biomedical and molecular engineering. Dordick has been a pioneer in the use of enzymes for material synthesis, developing biomolecular tools leading to better and safer drugs. 

Kristen Mills

KRISTEN MILLS, assistant professor of mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering, has won a Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) award grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for her research on cancer cell growth. The results of her work will contribute to a fundamental understanding of tumor growth and development. The CAREER Award is given to faculty members near the beginning of their academic careers and is one of the most competitive awards given by the NSF to junior faculty. 

Minoru Tomozawa

MINORU TOMOZAWA, professor of materials science and engineering, has been elected a Distinguished Life Member of the American Ceramic Society in recognition of his contribution to the ceramics profession. No more than three such memberships are awarded each year to members of the society, which includes more than 11,000 ceramic and glass professionals. Also this year, Tomozawa was chosen to deliver the American Ceramic Society’s 2019 Edward Orton Jr. Memorial Lecture, an opportunity given to those who have gained national recognition in the ceramics profession. 

Miles Kimball

MILES KIMBALL, professor of communication and media, has received the Ken Rainey Award for Excellence in Research from the Society for Technical Communication. The award recognizes researchers who have made positive, significant contributions to the field of technical communication. It is given to mark a lifetime of quality research in the field. Kimball’s research focuses on information design, data visualization, pedagogy, and the history of technical communication. 

Liping Huang

LIPING HUANG, professor of materials science and engineering and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the School of Engineering, has been accepted as a member of the 2019-2020 cohort of fellows for the Executive Leadership in Academic Technology, Engineering and Science (ELATES) at Drexel® program. ELATES at Drexel® is a one-year, part-time fellowship aimed at advancing senior female faculty in academic engineering, computer science, and other STEM fields across the country. 

Michael Amitay

MICHAEL AMITAY, James L. Decker ’45 Endowed Chair in Aerospace Engineering, has been elected a fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. Amitay is an internationally recognized expert for his research on active and passive flow control techniques and how that can be applied to airplanes, wind turbines, building, and many other engineering systems. He serves as the director of the Center for Flow Physics and Control. 

Daniel Gall

DANIEL GALL, professor of materials science and engineering, has received the 2019 IBM Faculty Award, part of a competitive worldwide program aimed at fostering collaboration in research and promoting curriculum innovation. With the award, Gall receives $40,000 to support his work in the area of post-Cu metallization. In his research, Gall seeks new metals that could outperform copper as nanoscale wires in future silicon chips. 

Jian Shi Milestones Fall 2019

JIAN SHI, associate professor of materials science and engineering, is the 2019 winner of the Alfred H. Geisler Memorial Award. The award, given by the Eastern New York Chapter of ASM International, recognizes an outstanding young materials scientist/engineer from the chapter who has made significant contributions to the fields of education, research, or manufacturing, before the age of 40. Shi’s research focuses on materials for electronics and photonics, adaptive devices, and materials for energy transformation toward renewable energy. 

Francine Berman

FRANCINE BERMAN, the Edward P. Hamilton Distinguished Educator of Computer Science, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The academy recognizes the outstanding achievements of individuals in academia, the arts, business, government, and public affairs. Founder of the Research Data Alliance, Berman is an international leader in data science whose work has focused on the stewardship, preservation, and cyberinfrastructure of the digital data on which modern research relies. 

Xavier Intes

XAVIER INTES, professor of biomedical engineering and co-director of the Biomedical Imaging Center, has been promoted to fellow of the society by SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics. This promotion recognizes his achievements in translational biophotonics. 

Suvranu De

SUVRANU DE, the J. Erik Jonsson ’22 Distinguished Professor and head of mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering, received the 2019 U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics J. Tinsley Oden Medal. The award recognizes his “pioneering contributions to meshfree methods, multiscale modeling and real time computing.”